Archives for October 30, 2021

Halloween books for the older kids!

SCARY STORIES FOR YOUNG FOXES: THE CITY by Christian McKay Heidicker (Henry Holt and Co. BYR, August 31, 2021, Ages 9-12)

  • The gripping companion novel to Newbery Honor recipient Scary Stories for Young Foxes, this new adventure follows two new fox kits desperate to survive the terrors of a frightening new world: the City. Packed with real scares, this is the perfect MG read for the Halloween season!
  • Scary Stories for Young Foxes was embraced early by writers and reviewers. It then received a 2020 Newbery Honor and has since been picked up by Game of Thrones star Lena Headey and Boat Rocker Studios to adapt it into an animated miniseries. 
  • The original dealt with resilience. Its companion tackles helping those in need.
  • An impeccable researcher (and vegan!), Christian layers his creepy stories with real facts about foxes and urban industrialization that speaks about animal cruelty, humanity’s impact on the natural world, and what animals must do to survive in modern times—all while exploring ideas about home, friendship, and courage.
  • “Clever and harrowing.” –The Wall Street Journal on Scary Stories for Young Foxes
  • “A chilling roller coaster of a read.” –Booklist, starred review ★ of Scary Stories for Young Foxes

I received a copy of this book and really recommend it for middle school-age readers!

The Monsters of Rookhaven by Pádraig Kenny (Henry Holt Books for Young Readers, September 21, 2021, Ages 10-14)

  • “A stunning book…a brand new take on the monster story.” —Eoin Colfer, international bestselling author of the Artemis Fowl series
  • From award-winning author, Pádraig Kenny comes an action-packed middle-grade fantasy about a family of monsters, perfect for fans of Jonathan Auxier and Victoria Schwab.
  • At turns chilling and thought-provoking, and stunningly illustrated by Edward Bettison, Pádraig Kenny’s The Monsters of Rookhaven explores difference and empathy through the eyes of characters you won’t soon forget.

Find out more at https://us.macmillan.com/mackids/

Self Disclosure: I received free copies of the above books. Information and cover images were also received.

Halloween books for the younger kids!

FRANKENSLIME by Joy Keller; illustrated by Ashley Belote (Feiwel & Friends, On Sale July 13, 2021, Ages 4-7)

  • A young slime scientist is surprised when their latest slime comes to life.
  • Ada Twist, Scientist meets Creepy Pair of Underwear in this book that is perfect for Halloween.
  • The book’s heroine identifies first and foremost as a scientist and shows it through experimentation and recording her observations.
  • SLIME! — Slime is huge right now. There are millions of posts and YouTube videos available, many drawing millions of views each. Schools have underground slime economies and I’ve heard that there might even be slime conventions!
  • The book will also include three of Victoria’s favorite slime recipes for readers to experiment with at home.

AWAKE by Mags DeRoma (Roaring Brook Press, October 12, 2021, Ages 4-8)

  • In a brilliant debut, Mags DeRoma gives us an empowered young child who is trying to solve the biggest problem she’s ever faced: How to get the spider out of her room without actually having to go near it, so she can peacefully fall asleep.
  • With its spooky cut-paper artwork, dark tones, and creepy crawlies, AWAKE is the perfect Halloween read!
  • This debut offers a different take on the girl power movement as an industrious girl must solve her own problem and get a big hairy spider out of her room before bedtime.
  • This clever picture book is the perfect metaphor for kindness and empathy, sure to open discussions about how to treat those around you.
  • Perfect for fans of Antoinette Portis; I’M TRYING TO LOVE SPIDERS; Cindy Derby; and Jory John.
  • Mags is a Los Angeles-based artist with a huge career ahead of her and we are lucky enough to publish her first book! She is prolific, creative, and offers something completely new.

See, Touch, Feel: Halloween: Glow in the Dark! By Roger Priddy (Priddy Books, 07/14/2020, Ages 0-3)

  • It features tactile pages for babies to touch and feel and spooky artwork created from handprints and footprints, which parents can then create together with their own child.
  • Roger Priddy’s See, Touch, Feel: Halloween is a fun first sensory book, especially designed for very young children.
  • Using artwork created from hand and footprints, this book will inspire parents to make fun artwork with their little ones.

Find out more at https://us.macmillan.com/mackids/

Self Disclosure: Information and cover images were provided.

Just a couple more last-minute Halloween suggestions!

Halloween is almost here! Are you ready? Here are a couple of great items to pick up for the fun holiday! Welch’s Fruit Snacks are sure to be a hit with the kids! Welch’s Fruit Snacks NEW 72ct Halloween Box features snack-size pouches with custom Halloween graphics on the packaging as well as fun, festive fruit snack shapes including a bat, witch, ghost, haunted castle, and pumpkin. Made with REAL fruit, these snacks are perfect for trick-or treating, lunchboxes, boo-baskets and more. (Available on Walmart for $9.98)

This next one will be a hit with everyone!

The perfect bewitching sip for themed parties, Halloween movie nights and beyond, Flying Cauldron’s Butterscotch Beer is made with the enchanting flavors of butterscotch and creamy vanilla – serve over ice cream or enjoy straight from the bottle! (Available on Amazon for $18.99/4-pack). My family had the opportunity to try these and loved the taste! If you like butterscotch and cream soda, you have to try one! It is delicious with vanilla ice cream! Yum!

Self Disclosure: I received free samples to facilitate this holiday post. Images were provided.

Magic of Lights Illuminates Angel Stadium this Holiday Season

For the First Time, Angel Stadium to host a dazzling drive-through holiday lights experience

Nov. 19 through Dec. 26

Special “Affordable for All” Holiday Pricing – One Carload, One Price, Starting at $25.

Tickets Go On Sale Friday, October 22 – MagicOfLights.com/Anaheim

This holiday season will be brighter, bolder and more colorful as the Angel Stadium parking lot is transformed into a vibrant drive-through, holiday themed light display starting Friday, November 19 through Sunday, December 26. Tickets for this event go on sale Friday, October 22 at 10am.

Produced by FunGuys Events, “Magic of Lights” will make its Southern California debut at the home of the Los Angeles Angels, featuring dozens of displays, illuminated canopies, and digital animation, all constructed with thousands of individual LED lights, which will take place in the Angel Stadium parking lot.

Inside the comfort of their own vehicle, guests will enjoy the tour’s brand-new displays including Prehistoric Christmas, Big Foot Monster Trucks and the Snow Flurry Tunnel, as well as Magic of Lights favorites including the 12 Days of Christmas, Toyland and the Enchanting Tunnel of Lights. Created with nearly one million sparkling lights, Magic of Lights is a nostalgic and festive experience for guests of all ages.

Magic of Lights shines daily from 5 p.m. until 10 p.m. beginning Friday, Nov. 19 through Sunday, Dec. 26. Tickets for this festive holiday event are on sale now and can be purchased for an assigned date starting at just $25 per vehicle. For a complete schedule and to purchase tickets, visit MagicOfLights.com/Anaheim. Tickets must be purchased online in advance and will not be available for purchase at the gate.  

Credit:

ANGEL STADIUM

Angel Stadium has been home to the Los Angeles Angels for 56 seasons. As baseball’s fourth-oldest ballpark, trailing only Boston’s Fenway Park, Chicago’s Wrigley Field and Los Angeles’ Dodger Stadium, it has hosted seven American League Division Series (2002, 2004, 2005, 2007, 2008, 2009 and 2014), six American League Championship Series (1979, 1982, 1986, 2002, 2005 and 2009) and the 2002 World Series, as well as the 1967, 1989 and 2010 Major League Baseball All-Star Games. In addition, Angel Stadium has hosted various events including AMA Supercross and Monster Jam, as well as the concerts for U2, Kenny Chesney, Eric Church, Kacey Musgraves and Chance the Rapper.

FUNGUYS EVENTS

A division of FunGuys LLC, based in Ohio, whose principals include Ken Hudgens, Tim Murray, Eric Cole, and Grant Reeves. Hudgens, Murray and Cole each have decades of experience at Live Nation® and Feld Entertainment® as top executives in the Motor Sports divisions, with Reeves as the owner, producer and promoter of DockDogs®, Upbeat K9® and other internationally touring entertainment properties for more than 20 years.