Halloween books for the younger kids!

FRANKENSLIME by Joy Keller; illustrated by Ashley Belote (Feiwel & Friends, On Sale July 13, 2021, Ages 4-7)

  • A young slime scientist is surprised when their latest slime comes to life.
  • Ada Twist, Scientist meets Creepy Pair of Underwear in this book that is perfect for Halloween.
  • The book’s heroine identifies first and foremost as a scientist and shows it through experimentation and recording her observations.
  • SLIME! — Slime is huge right now. There are millions of posts and YouTube videos available, many drawing millions of views each. Schools have underground slime economies and I’ve heard that there might even be slime conventions!
  • The book will also include three of Victoria’s favorite slime recipes for readers to experiment with at home.

AWAKE by Mags DeRoma (Roaring Brook Press, October 12, 2021, Ages 4-8)

  • In a brilliant debut, Mags DeRoma gives us an empowered young child who is trying to solve the biggest problem she’s ever faced: How to get the spider out of her room without actually having to go near it, so she can peacefully fall asleep.
  • With its spooky cut-paper artwork, dark tones, and creepy crawlies, AWAKE is the perfect Halloween read!
  • This debut offers a different take on the girl power movement as an industrious girl must solve her own problem and get a big hairy spider out of her room before bedtime.
  • This clever picture book is the perfect metaphor for kindness and empathy, sure to open discussions about how to treat those around you.
  • Perfect for fans of Antoinette Portis; I’M TRYING TO LOVE SPIDERS; Cindy Derby; and Jory John.
  • Mags is a Los Angeles-based artist with a huge career ahead of her and we are lucky enough to publish her first book! She is prolific, creative, and offers something completely new.

See, Touch, Feel: Halloween: Glow in the Dark! By Roger Priddy (Priddy Books, 07/14/2020, Ages 0-3)

  • It features tactile pages for babies to touch and feel and spooky artwork created from handprints and footprints, which parents can then create together with their own child.
  • Roger Priddy’s See, Touch, Feel: Halloween is a fun first sensory book, especially designed for very young children.
  • Using artwork created from hand and footprints, this book will inspire parents to make fun artwork with their little ones.

Find out more at https://us.macmillan.com/mackids/

Self Disclosure: Information and cover images were provided.

Leave a Reply