Books of the month!

Picture book choice:

BEACH TOYS VS. SCHOOL SUPPLIES by Mike Ciccotello: The second picture book from Mike Ciccotello, about two very different groups learning to balance having fun and buckling down. Perfect for both the start of summer and back to school.

Middle-grade books to keep you busy!:   FART QUEST: THE BARF OF THE BEDAZZLER by Aaron Reynolds; illustrated by Cam Kendell: Smell your way into Book 2 of the Fart Quest series about a trio of hapless young adventurers—one mage, one warrior, and one monk—on the hunt for a quest that will help them level up to the status of Hero.

STINGERS by Randy Wayne White: The trio of brave friends who make up Shark, Inc—Luke, Maribel, and Sabina—dive back into an adventure in this follow-up to bestselling author Randy Wayne White’s Fins.

The perfect YA books to kick off the summer season:

  • FIREKEEPER’S DAUGHTER by Angeline Boulley: a groundbreaking YA thriller about a Native teen who must root out the corruption in her community, for readers of Angie Thomas and Tommy Orange. Equal parts thrilling and thought-provoking this is a must-have for any summer TBR.
  • BLADE OF SECRETS by Tricia Levenseller: The first book in a YA duology about a teen magical weapons blacksmith with social anxiety.
  • ACE OF SPADES by Faridah Abike-Iyimide: Gossip Girl meets Get Out in Ace of Spades, a YA contemporary thriller by debut author Faridah Àbíké-Íyímídé about two Black students, Devon & Chiamaka, and their struggles against an anonymous bully at the prestigious Niveus Private Academy.

Self Disclosure: I received free copies of the books to facilitate this post. Cover images were also provided.

Leave a Reply