Archives for April 22, 2019

Books of the Week: Earth Day Books!

EARTH! MY FIRST 4.54 BILLION YEARS by Stacy McAnulty (Henry Holt BYR, on sale October 24, 2017, Ages 4-8)

  • This is a hilarious—yet fact-filled—new picture book, uniquely told from the perspective of Earth herself!
  • Earth! is filled to the brim with eye-opening, kid-friendly facts about our planet, brought to life with vibrant art by award-winning illustrator David Litchfield.
  • More than that, the picture book is an adorable imagining of Earth’s own personality, perfect for fans of Jason Chin’s Gravity or Peter Brown’s The Curious Garden.

I absolutely love this book! It is a fun read and I love the illustrations! I recommend this one for all young children!

NATURE GIRLS by Aki (Henry Holt BYR, on sale March 5, 2019, ages 3-6)

  • From the author-illustrator of The Weather Girls comes a new picture book starring an adorable troupe of girls exploring different biomes—the ocean, the desert, the tundra, the grasslands, the forest—and meeting all the cute animals that inhabit them.
  • All kinds of girls will see themselves in this adorable troupe of Nature Girls. With matching outfits and lots of spunk, they have all the charm of a modern-day Madeline.
  • Super cute art showcases the girls in scenes outdoors. Bright colors and simple lines bring this world to life!
  • Gently folded into the rhyming verse are fun facts and details about the biomes. Marine, desert, tundra, grasslands, forest—the Nature Girls love them all!

This one is really cute and children will love this adorable group of girls in this story! Recommend for young children.

Self Disclosure: I received free samples of the above books and only feature those that I highly recommend. Cover images were also provided.