Books of the week!

park cover - SM     1 words front cover

What Would JeeMin Do: Master Martial Arts Duo Pen Powerful Series of Anti-Bullying & Stranger Danger Kids Books. It’s Time to Kick Adversity’s Butt!

There’s no way to sugarcoat it, bullying and dangerous contact with strangers has become a fierce epidemic for modern young children and turns the lives of millions into a misery. Most victims find it hard to speak out and, acutely aware of young minds and their thirst for stories, one U.S. couple has found a novel way to reach out to them and their peers.

‘What Would JeeMin Do’ is the new series brought to market by Master martial arts instructors, Lori and Matthew Brown. The series’ eight current volumes have a bold and clear-cut goal: to teach children what bullying and stranger danger really is, how it can plight their lives and what they can do to help themselves and friends who may be suffering.

Series synopses:

‘Being Bullied at the Park’ – While at the park, JeeMin sees a little boy getting bullied and not sure what to do. She learns ways she can help the little boy learn confidence to overcome the fear of being bullied and to stand up and say STOP.

‘Bullies On The Bus’ – JeeMin helps her friend Joey who is bullied on the school bus. Finding out this is normal for Joey; JeeMin encourages him to get help from their teacher.

‘Cyber Bullying’ – JeeMin is at a friend’s birthday party. Her friend shows off her new cellphone she had received for her birthday. Being so excited she passes hernumber on to several friends, some who send her very unkind bullying text messages. JeeMin and her friend learn what to do in this bully situation.

‘Words Do Hurt’ – It is a new school year, JeeMin and her friends are starting the third grade. A new girl from a different country has started at JeeMin’s school. JeeMin and her friends befriend the new girl who is treated very badly by kids from the fourth grade. In the process, they help teach that bullying is wrong and words do hurt.

‘Home Alone Stranger at the Door’ – JeeMin is home alone after school; a stranger is knocking at the door. JeeMin’s parents teach her what to do. JeeMin teaches her friend about strangers at the door when home alone.

‘Halloween Stranger Safety’ – Halloween approaches, JeeMin and her friends prepare for trick-or-treating by going to their karate class to learn Halloween Safety and Stranger Danger.

‘Stranger in the Shadows’ – One evening JeeMin and her mom go to the grocery store to find a stranger in the shadows watching them. Together they learn what to do about strangers while out at night at the store.

‘Stranger Near the Neighborhood’ – JeeMin and her friends walk to school not aware they are being watched and followed by a stranger, later to be approached by the stranger. JeeMin shares with her friends what her parents had taught her about strangers.

“Our primary goal was to educate and empower those who have become victims of bullying or strangers,” explain the authors. “Children find it very hard to reach out to anyone about such emotive subjects, so we wanted to create a character through which they could find a friend and draw comfort. Equally, the books are a vital tool for parents, schools and community groups to use for the prevention of bullying and other forms of abuse.”

Continuing, “You’ll notice that the situations JeeMin gets into are very eclectic and varied, and that’s a deliberate attempt to show that bullying and strangers are two harrowing realities that know no boundaries – be in in school, at home or even just while out walking the streets. We need children to be aware of the constant need for vigilance.

The Browns’ work has scored rave reviews. For example, Richard comments, “Should be in every school. Can’t wait for other books in the series.”

I received a copy of one of these books and I highly recommend this series of books. Bullying is a very big and important issue and I am impressed with how this book teaches that children can help other children deal with this issue. A must-read! 

The entire ‘What Would JeeMin Do’ series is available now:

You can also purchase at:
I love these next two books!
To introduce children to Chinese culture at an early age, China Institute in America created the “We All Live in the Forbidden City” book series. The books are part of their children’s programming which aims to bridge the Asian culture gap through educational resources and regional workshops.
mr emperor cover


What Was It Like, Mr. Emperor? (ages 8+)

Engaging stories take kids through the average life of an emperor and learn about the real people who lived in the palace, including the prince who fought off a rebel invasion, the palace maids who lived in the Inner Court, the emperor who ruled twice, and the emperor who loved crickets.
Author Chiu Kwong-chiu is an artist, designer, and professor who explores Chinese traditional visual arts and adopts groundbreaking methods to interpret and promote Chinese art and culture.

I really like this one especially since it is for older kids. My son (who is 12) found this one interesting and I love that it teaches about Chinese Art and Culture. 

You can purchase on

bowls of happiness cover

Bowls of Happiness (ages 4-8)
Created by internationally renowned artists Brian Tse and Alice Mak, this China Institute book teaches children about Chinese artwork and culture and their universal spirit of generosity, love, and respect for nature. The loveable illustrations are coupled with photographs of porcelain art found in the Palace Museum’s collection. Kids learn about how bowls are made and be able to draw their own Bowl of Happiness after reading the story.

I absolutely love the illustrations in this book and love the positive message that this book portrays. A must read for children ages 4-8!

You can purchase on

Self Disclosure: I received free copies of the above books to facilitate this post. No other compensation was received.



Speak Your Mind