Books for Native American Heritage Month

FRY BREAD by Kevin Noble Maillard; illustrated by Juana Martinez- Neal: Told in lively and powerful verse by debut author Kevin Noble Maillard, Fry Bread is an evocative depiction of a modern Native American family, vibrantly illustrated by Pura Belpre Award winner and Caldecott Honoree Juana Martinez-Neal. This is a perfect book to celebrate this month and I recommend for ages 3-6.

Another great choice for the little ones is this picture book!

WE ARE WATER PROTECTORS by Carole Lindstrom; illustrated by Michaela Goade: Inspired by the many Indigenous-led movements across North America, this bold and lyrical picture book issues an urgent rallying cry to safeguarding the Earth’s water from harm and corruption. I really enjoyed reading this book and loved the beautiful illustrations!

Looking for a book for young adults? I highly recommend this one!

FIREKEEPER’S DAUGHTER by Angeline Boulley: In Firekeeper’s Daughter, debut author Angeline Boulley crafts a groundbreaking YA thriller about a Native teen who must root out the corruption in her community, for readers of Angie Thomas and Tommy Orange.

This next one is perfect for middle school-age kids!

THE BRAVE by James Bird: There are so few books about the contemporary Native experience. In school, kids usually learn about Sacagawea and Pocahontas, and other Native Americans from our past. James Bird wants to show readers that “Native stories are about today and tomorrow, not just the past.” which makes THE BRAVE necessary reading for back-to-school.

You can find all of these at https://us.macmillan.com/mackids/

Self Disclosure: I received free copies of the above books. Cover images were also provided.

Leave a Reply